The purpose of the Graham Plant Travelling Professor Award is to:

  • highlight the radiology specialty in the UK
  • promote best practice with regards to acquisition and reporting techniques
  • promote the radiology specialty as a specialist interest in future careers
  • provide specific radiology teaching at both trainee and consultant level to centres that might not have access to such training opportunities.

Each year, the appointed travelling professor will visit a set number of training programmes to deliver lectures or study days, one of which is to be recorded, over an agreed period. The BSIR and RCR contribute matched funding for each professorship. The total sum covers travel expenses for the appointee, filming and administrative costs including the appointments process. 

The travelling professor also gives the Graham Plant Lecture each year at the BSIR Annual Scientific Meeting. You will find recordings of a selection of past Graham Plant Lecture recordings below.

Graham Plant Travelling Professor 2024

Dr Trevor Cleveland has been appointed as the Graham Plant Travelling Professor. 

Trevor has been an Interventional Radiologist since completing radiology training in 1995. He was appointed consultant at the Sheffield Vascular Institute and in 2022 moved to Doncaster for a year. More recently he commenced an IR and Transformational role at University Hospitals Plymouth. He has delivered teaching throughout this time. 

You can find out more by visiting the RCR website here.

Dr Ian McCafferty - Acute trauma intervention: have we got it right? - BSIR ASM 2023 - Please click on the image to be taken to the recording. 

Professor Tze Min Wah - How to create a sustainable Interventional Oncology service for the future - BSIR ASM 2022

Professor Tze Min Wah - The Impact of COVID-19 on Interventional Oncology (and me) - BSIR ASM 2021

Dr Raman Uberoi - Interventional Radiology - a 21st Century Speciality - BSIR ASM 2019

Dr Alex Barnacle - Graham Plant Lecture - Paediatric IR: "The Adolescent Years" - BSIR ASM 2018

Professor Duncan Ettles - BSIR ASM 2017

Dr Tony Nicholson - Dr Graham Plant Lecture - BSIR ASM 2016